Indonesian Government Suspends Visa Exemption Policy For All Foreigners Travelling to Indonesia

In view of the surge in the number of confirmed cases around the world, the Government of the Republic of Indonesia would be implementing additional precautionary measures to further reduce the risk of importation of COVID-19:


  • The Indonesian government has suspended its visa exemption policy for a short-stay visit, visa-on-arrival and diplomatic/service visa-free facilities for all countries, for a period of 1 month.
  • All foreigners/travelers who wish to visit Indonesia must obtain a visa from Indonesian missions in accordance with the purpose of their visit. Upon submission, applicants must provide health certificates issued by relevant health authorities from their respective countries.
  • All visitors/travelers must complete and submit a Health Alert Card to the Port Health Authority upon arrival at Indonesian airports.
  • No entry to Indonesia for visitors/travelers who have traveled to the following countries, in the last 14 days: Iran, Italy, Vatican, Spain, France, German, Switzerland and United Kingdom.


These measures will take effect on Friday 20 March at 00.00 Western Indonesia Time (GMT+7).


For further information on the Indonesia’s advisory on COVID-19 for travellers, please refer to here.